'Til the butter melts

Pursuing the cruising dream in 32' of sailing ketch

Quiet, please?

7 Comments

I like people – I really do.  Most people are charming, intelligent and fun to be around. 

But there’s a limit. Like now.  

We’re anchored out, about 10 miles south of Boston in a little bay outside Cohasset, MA. Yet even here, we can’t escape the noise pollution that is now “normal” for our culture.  Passing boats, constant aircraft overhead, the drone of traffic; all that sound is a background to our lives that’s so pervasive and so familiar that we don’t even notice that it’s there.

 So I say – but I do.  We set the anchor and got the boat tidied up, then I sat in the cockpit and closed my eyes, leaned back and heard… Humans.  

Not sea birds, not surf, not the breeze over the water – just people, and all the noise they make.

Even so, it’s far better here than it was last night in Gloucester Harbor.  There, we had a mooring within striking distance of the packing plant and the ice factory… Talk about noise.  

And before that it was five days in Portsmouth and Kittery, right in the middle of the river next to the Navy Base.  From recordings of reveille at 8am to “Taps” at sundown, there is never a moment of silence on the base, and that’s just a background to the rest of the noise of human habitation. After 3 days I was done, but we ended up waiting two more for our weather window to continue south. 

And now? I’m looking forward to the day – I hope not too distant, when I can sit with my back to a tree, close my eyes, and hear nothing but silence. Or bird song and wind. Or waves on sand. 

Just no digitized trumpet.

Author: s/v sionna

Living the dream in 32'. We left Maine on August 18th, 2016, and have gradually worked our way south until we felt warm enough. We've paused in Boot Key Harbor, and are now exploring the Keys until we leave the boat and return to Maine for a summer of employment. Follow our blog here, and follow our progress in map form by joining www.Farkwar.com!

7 thoughts on “Quiet, please?

  1. Sorry you noticed. The greatest relief about coming back from a tour was the–relative– quiet around here.
    We were anchored in that little cove South of The Basin on a night of the Blues Festival in Rockland; I could tell what key they were playing in. That was fifteen miles away, eh?
    After I caught our first (and last) pot-warp, I always left the gear in reverse…at least while I was sailing forward. I thought that helped.
    Thanks for the card , and we’re enjoying the blog.
    Gordon

    Liked by 1 person

    • We do the same – but apparently the stopped prop was sticking out enough on that side to snag it anyway. It didn’t wrap, and a knife freed us – though I do hate to have to do that. A moment’s intention is my only excuse.

      Like

  2. From the direction you’re going, when you finally get to that tree, better make sure there’s no fire ants around it! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you re: the tropical depression. The first major event in my life a month after being born was the ’38 Hurricane in RI. Happened in September. I was there in body only, the mind not having caught up yet. (Still waiting) Dusty

    Liked by 1 person

  3. George and I are enjoying this journey. Thanks for sharing with all of us. It is like reading a good book and has us looking forward even more, to our own adventure. Be safe, and I hope you find your quiet.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Finding quiet anchorages and enjoying the peace and solitude is definitely one of the great aspects of cruising. Keep heading down south, all the way to the Bahamas and it’s waiting for you there đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be fair, MATTAPOISETT Harbor, where we are right now, is lovely, and huge! We were the only anchored boat last night, of hundreds here.

      Like

  5. When you get to the Bahamas, you will find plenty of islands where you will be the only person for miles in any direction. Many nights we went to sleep with on the sound of water lapping against Cream Puff’s hull.

    Mark and Cindy
    sv Cream Puff

    Like

Leave a Reply

