'Til the butter melts

Pursuing the cruising dream in 32' of sailing ketch

At “Home” again…

14 Comments

Closure is an interesting concept. I guess I tend to think of it as a defined border, a line in the sand (or elsewhere) that you can look at and say “There, that’s where it happened, that’s the point of change.”

But for us, and this cruise? Not so much.

We haven’t so much closed as just stopped. Stopped moving, stopped striving, stopped fretting the weather and the logistics of being a nomad in a period in history which is distinctly unfriendly to Nomads.

The Rockland Breakwater Light, which we passed at 10:35am, June 8th 2020, officially entering Rockland Harbor for the first time in nearly 4 years.

Sionna is home. On Monday June 8th, 2020, Nicki and I picked up the pennant for our mooring in Rockland Harbor, Maine, slipped it over the port bow cleat, and ended our four-year, 4800 nautical mile odyssey to the sun.

It could be said (and indeed HAS been said, many times) that we have accomplished much, and certainly on one level that’s very true. If one counts such things as miles covered, sunsets admired, storms handled and repairs accomplished, there’s no doubt that we have done something significant in the three terms we spent aboard. If we consider friendships forged, relationships tested, skills honed… Yes indeed, something of note has been experienced.

Love Cove, Southport Island, Maine.

But not without cost. Sionna is loosing paint in sheets (we nicknamed this trip the “Paint-chip Tour”), and her gear and fittings are sorely in need of serious attention. There will be no 2021 season for her or us as we begin the refit to bring her into her 6th decade – maybe no 2022 season either.
Too, the stress on Nicki and I has not been trivial, and this initial time ashore after our arrival has been largely focused on rebuilding our emotional reserves and recovering from the chronic fatigue we’ve experienced these last few months.

The question has already been asked; “When are you headed out again?” I try not to laugh – or cry.

We’re not. At least, we have no plan at this point to go cruising again. Perhaps that urge will strike, once we’ve been off the water for a year or two, once Sionna is back in shape, and floating in the harbor again. Perhaps then I’ll look back and wonder how I ever thought I’d not want to head over the horizon once more.

And perhaps ours is a cautionary tale for others who have the dream to “Sell up and go Cruising”. Hindsight is 20/20, and learning from the experiences of those who have done what you wish to do is a sure sign of maturity and rationality.

Was it worth doing? I think so. But if I’d known the cost ahead of time, the wear and tear on both the boat and the marriage, I doubt I would have so blithely dropped the mooring that sunny day in August, 2016.

This is, I suspect, the final entry in this blog. There is more to the story, of course, but the rest is too personal, too raw, too fresh in memory and nerve to be offered here for any and all to view. Much has been learned, a few dreams have been fulfilled, but far more dreams have been scattered and lost, remaining just out of reach.

I guess that’s how it is with dreams.

Author: s/v sionna

Though we're currently land-based, "Sionna" is in the midst of a pretty major refit. Once we get her back together, perhaps the Canadian Maritimes? I hear Nova Scotia calling... Follow our blog here!

14 thoughts on “At “Home” again…

  1. Welcome Home.
    Dave and I wish you well. My only regret was that when we were in Rockland last year we didn’t get to meet you. We don’t know what the next year or 2 holds for us and Cloud 9 either. She sits on the hard in Rhode Island until we get back to her and we don’t know after this year whether we will get back to Maine or bring her home to the Great Lakes, or have moved on to new adventures. We will make that decision when we feel we can . Thanks for letting me tag along on your journey home.
    Rose(mary) & Dave
    S/V Cloud 9
    Currently dirt dwellers

    Like

    • Thanks Rosemary! We’ll be here for a bit, that much is clear. We’ve this little house to finish, some heavy logistics to work out and – of course – some income to create if we’re to get Sionna back in fighting form. If Rockland comes within your sight, we’ll be here to welcome you!

      Like

  2. I have enjoyed your writing. If you feel the urge to write about your next endeavor include me as one of your readers. Good luck.

    Like

  3. When I was just out of high school I got it in my mind to ride my bicycle across the country. I tried to enlist a number of partners but in the end I set off on my own. I told all my friends, my family of my plans, many were in awe. Some were worried. As it was late summer I planned to go south out of NY then travel through the Southern states. I left with $300 in my pocket. It was a long lonely ride, sleeping by the side of the road, in unlocked churches, state parks. After just a 3 weeks on the road I was done. There was no joy in it, I packed the bike up and bought a bus ticket to Florida. Eventually ending up in Palm Beach with $30 in my pocket. I lived on the streets . Working when I could as a day laborer . My clothes got filthy, I sold my bike, renting a room to bathe every 3 days. This was where my wanderlust dream went. It is too long a story to go into but suffice it to say 6 months later I came home, demoralized, beaten and every friend and at every family reunion for years after that I had to explain or defend my failure of the dream. As the year rolled by I eventually came to realize that that short period was in fact perhaps the most important in my life. The hardship, hard knocks, the good and bad people I met, it was defining, and completely changed my trajectory in life. It was in fact the best thing I every did. If anyone still asks about the day I set off to ride across the country that is what I tell them. Best of Luck to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks, Chris. As time passes, I expect my own view of these past four years may soften. Certainly I don’t view it as a “failure”, per se – but instead, an experience that refused to fit the box I built for it. My mistake? Quite possibly.

    Like

    • Glad to hear you say you don’t view it as a failure, Keith. Imagine if we did that every time we made a major change in life, or in lifestyle? You made the choice and committed to it in commendable fashion – but too many unpredictable and extenuating circumstances conspired to get in your way. Not your mistake – no regrets!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Keith, and Nicki
    Congrats on your adventure. I’ve been enjoying your stories and travels, and I can relate to all of it. Rockland is a great place to return to, as you know better than me. We would like to visit you sometime, and you can visit us in Freeport, Covid dependent. Not many good Rockland festivals this year! I guess it’ll be FB until then.

    Like

  6. Glad to hear that you guys made it home safely! I really appreciate your openness and honesty in this post. One thing that is so hard to explain to people is that long term travel and a nomadic lifestyle isn’t easy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, WE’RE glad you’re here, and glad that slog is over. We’ll be headed for Sharp’s wharf this week; hope to see yez around. G&C

    On Sun, Jun 14, 2020 at 2:22 PM ‘Til the butter melts wrote:

    > s/v sionna posted: ” Closure is an interesting concept. I guess I tend to > think of it as a defined boarder, a line in the sand (or elsewhere) that > you can look at and say “There, that’s where it happened, that’s the point > of change.” But for us, and this cruise? Not so m” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • And we’re very much looking forward to seein’ you folks. We’ll find our dock chairs and come sit on the dock next to you, and have a little visit.

      Like

  8. Oh my…your pictures are stunning. I’ve spent many a summer in watercolor class in Rockland, MA
    I think I recognize those harbor buildings…thoughI’ve never been on a boat there, we painted at the boatyard many times. I prefer your view better. Thoughts of lobster rolls are taking over my mind…
    Thank you!

    Like

    • I’m curious which “Rockland”you are referring to? You mention Rockland Massachusetts, but our home is in Rockland, Maine. Or perhaps you – like us – Have visited both? We anchored not to far east of the village of Rockland Massachusetts on our way back north last spring. Lovely, but a bit rolly in a northeast breeze!
      But we also anchored nearly in the middle of RockPORT Massachusetts during our return – and of course RockPORT Maine is just three miles north of our home here. It gets confusing!

      Like

Leave a comment